Mahalo Nui Loa, Maui

Traveling to the top of Maui’s Mount Haleakala was an homage without me knowing it. I couldn’t wait to see the sunrise above the misty clouds. To catch a glimpse of something breathtaking and magical. That morning I woke up at 2AM in chills and sweats. I was feeling symptoms of covid and worried I couldn’t see Haleakala, but I pushed through. 

I thought we were early enough until we reached an elderly park ranger. Shock ran through me as the ranger said the tickets were for the day before but he let us through. He kindly said that there was still 20 minutes until we would catch sunrise. It was 4 in the morning and the navigation read it would take up exactly 20 minutes to get there when sunrise would start. 

It was a slim chance with time as we raced up the narrow and jagged mountain, but thankful that we had a chance nevertheless. 

Right when we stepped foot on the ground I rushed and squeezed my way in through an ocean of people just to grab a glimpse of the sunrise. Within seconds people started to clap and the sunrise began to peak. We made it within milliseconds. The hairlines of my body raised. It was cold, icy compared to the warmth down at shore. 

This is it, and it was the most breathtaking view ever. It was heavenly. The clouds were majestic and unreal against the mountain. Like a wispy river of clouds slowly swaying around, thick, lush- Holy. All of a sudden there were men singing a native Polonesian chant, and we were witnessing a beautiful ritual as the sun was rising and the clouds were making way for its presence. It was the most beautiful, natural, cultural, and spiritual experience I was in. As I tried to capture everything on my phone, I stopped and felt the urge to put my phone down and meditate in prayer. I wanted to open my eyes and take the environment in because I knew it was a special one- one I can revert to when I needed a visual to connect to that would bring me peace when I meditated. 

This place really gave me peace. I could have stayed there for hours. But the sun was fleeting and I wanted to physically capture its essence. To scan this magnificent view, to take it all in so I wont ever forget…

I saw the golden sun, and held my gaze on how the clouds drifted. I felt the cold wind caress my face and started to breathe into my meditation. I felt my body take in the icy air. I slowly exhaled, letting out some of my frustrations. As I locked my eyes with the sun, I slowly closed my eyes. I sat between the rail and folded my hands, and started to pray. I saw darkness but the sun still shined through even when my eyes were closed. The chatter around me was very distracting. I couldn’t really focus against the noise around me, but I tried to take it all in. 

I had asked God for 3 specific prayers: 

  1. My father’s life
  2. Meaning of love  
  3. My dreams as a filmmaker

I felt like I was talking to God on the top of Haleakala. It was a feeling as close to God through nature than ever before. Eyes opened as I took in one last view to engrain this moment into my psyche. How beautiful it was (I feel flashbacks just thinking about it). My hands were numb and rigid as I unlocked them and prepared to leave. I left feeling incredibly thankful for this homage that Maui has blessed me with. 

So many beautiful memories and deep meanings of aloha. Every time I enter the island, I feel this great energy that lifts my spirit. It tells me that all will be OK, and I feel the rush of peace. I have learned that it is the imprints of Aloha. So that every time I leave the island, I whisper Mahalo for its beauty, its healing aspects, and it’s spirit. 

My sympathy and prayers have been with Lahaina, and the people of Maui. I cannot fathom the grief, but can only learn as I stay attuned. Their people and spirit are hurting. I pray for healing, mental wellness, guidance, restoration and help to all those affected by the fire. 

Mahalo Nui Loa for the many beautiful memories that were created. I am dismayed that it has become of this.

Please consider giving: https://donorbox.org/mauimutualaid

Mount Haleakala -Katrina Lee – 2022

Author: Katrina 玉薇

My Thoughts in Written Form

Leave a comment